September 2nd, 2014

Looking back at this week I cannot believe all that happened. We started it off with another exchange with the Sisters serving in Mt. Vernon. I got to work with Sister Call who came out with me to the mission. It was a little strange being out the same amount of time but her kind of looking up to me for advice. One of the strange things about my new assignment.  On exchanges everything fell through so we did a ton of finding and I love being able to meet new people that have no idea about the gospel but are willing to listen!

Again the majority of our week was teaching and service. Eli and Eric are still working towards baptism and I learn from them all the time. I am always so amazed by what we DO know. The gospel isn’t anything new and we have learned it before. When we teach, the people are just remembering what they have already known.

Yesterday for p-day (o by the way Happy Belated Labor Day! I hope you all had fun at the reunion!) the entire zone met up at the palisades which is part of the state park. We played ultimate Frisbee, caught snails, played football, etc. It was a blast! When we were getting ready to leave one of the sisters realized they had locked their keys in their truck so Sister Hill and I waited for the vehicle coordinator to bring the spare keys from Des Moines. But when he arrived (after a 2 hour drive) he found out he had forgotten the key…..it was an adventure. So this morning was spent driving to get the key and returning the truck to the sisters. Pretty funny!  We have to learn to laugh at ourselves and seek happiness (Alma 27:18) 🙂

In other news I held a cute turtle and Sister Anderson gave us scarfs for helping them paint the garage (I turned mine into a skirt….I know I’m weird). Life here in Cedar Rapids continues to be good to me. Sister Hill keeps me sane and the wonderful people we see everyday remind how patient and loving Heavenly Father is with each of us.

I love you all!

~Sister Despain

mt vernon exchanges AugExchanges with the Mt. Vernon sisters.

Helgenburgers

IMG_4791

turtle…Don’t worry we let him go in the wild!

Scarf

Michele's craft roomMichele, our investigators craft glasses….hott stuff!

Leave a Reply

