August 18th, 2014

Okay I am attempting to put in words my week, but I am struggling. A majority of this week was spent in meetings and giving trainings to missionaries in the stake. We got to train on enduring to the end well. Not just in our missions, but each day of our life. We used the talk by Elder Wirthlin, “Come what may and love it” and rereading that was exactly what I needed! Training is not as nerve racking as I thought it would be.

We met with so many people and I love teaching people more and more each week! I am not sure if I mentioned this already but most of the people we are teaching are from other countries. Pompey, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Mexico, etc. and so I am learning so much about culture too. Who would have guessed in Iowa? Cedar Rapids is a melting pot for sure. We found many new people to teach this week, including a man form Mexico whose mother makes some of the best Mexican food I’ve eaten in over a year, maybe in my life. We are being so blessed with the chance to teach people that are prepared. Hopefully we will get to help with a baptism in the next few weeks of a wonderful nine-year-old boy.  Heavenly Father has been working on Cedar Rapids for quite some time 🙂

I can’t think of anything else new except sometimes here in Cedar Rapids the air smells like Captain Crunch because of the Quaker oats factory. That is delicious

I love you all and pray for you everyday!

~Sister Despain

**Pictures: Sister Hill and I discovered why we are friends. We both have onesie pajamas…**

IMG_4740

IMG_4745In our “spare” time!

IMG_4746

Leave a Reply

