May 27th, 2014

This week was one of many service opportunities, working with members, and being blessed with two new people that want to learn more about the gospel.

I learned some new skills this week like how to really paint a picket fence and also how to split hostas. Sister Rasmussen called me a city girl when we went outside to do yard work and she quickly learned that my parents taught me how to work hard. haha I am grateful for that!

We met a wonderful lady who was taught a year ago by missionaries but then had a major medical accident that left her without legs. She got back in touch with us because she has such a desire to learn! It is amazing to me how strong people are as they go through their trials!

Zone Conference in Davenport was awesome! We talked about working more with members, being more Christ-like, and letting go of our fears. My favorite quote from the conference is “there is no growth in the comfort zone and no comfort in the growth zone.”

This weekend was May Day which is the celebration for Independence Day for the Marshall Islands so we did some finding at those events. We also spent all our preparation day there eating delicious food (we made doughnuts for the event…. almost 200 of them!), playing sports, and having fun!

I hit my year mark this week and was thinking if anyone wants to I have a challenge. If you read 3 pages in the Book of Mormon, starting tomorrow May 28th, everyday by the time I get home you will be finished reading the entire book.

I love you all!

Sister Despain

 

Pictures:

Classic Iowa

All my companions (minus two S.Rogers and S. Bingham) at Zone Conference in Davenport

Learning to make tons of Marshallese Doughnuts with S. Jally

S. Kobia and Rueben at May Day

Leave a Reply

