April 7th, 2014

Let’s see……This week was crazy with trying to get into the swing of things. We do service at an adult care center and I have never made friends so fast. I love serving with people that instantly love. This week was scattered with some strange and awesome visits getting to know the people in Dubuque 🙂 It is fun to see the huge range of people in the world. One of our investigators had a baby which was so fun to be able to go see (not hold since that’s not allowed 😦 ) someone that had just been with our Heavenly Father not even 24 hours earlier. It strengthens mine and the investigators testimony of life before we come to earth!

At the first of the week I was worried about Parker and through many prayers and a phone call from Dad to the mission mom I was able to calm my worries:) Not knowing how those are love are makes me crazy! That is one thing I have learned on my mission for sure!

We had Zone Training Meeting this week in Clinton. One for the Elder’s last name was Leishman so I took a shot in the dark and asked if he knew Leishman’s near Logan, Ut. He said of course his grandparents lived there. Haha he is Elder and Sister Leishman’s(who Grandma and Grandpa served with in Nauvoo) grandson. Small world! We took a picture to show to our grandparents 🙂

General Conference was exactly what I needed. Every single time questions are answered and I feel the Spirit testify to me of the fullness of the truth we know! I am grateful for that!

I love you all! Have a wonderful week!

Love,

Sister Despain

PS sorry for so many pictures but my camera is finally letting me upload them to send 🙂

An cool experience from this week that Kelsey wanted to share:

“So yesterday after conference I was talking to my bishops wife and she grew up around phoenix area so she had asked me if I knew a bunch of people in gilbert previously. But, yesterday She came up to me and asked me if I knew any brimhalls? I said of course and that my best friend is Lauren brimhall. She began to tear up and said she was your moms Laurel advisor in Chicago a long time ago and your mom used to baby sit her kids haha. I guess the last time she visited your mom was in 2003 when she was in az for a little bit but she had such great memories of seeing your mom grow up. Heavenly father puts us in peoples paths that help us feel peace.  It was a testimony to me that even in Iowa heavenly father could send someone to me that could comfort me. I just wanted to share that with ya :)”

 

Leave a Reply

