June 10th, 2013 – THRASH ON!

Well Everyone I am in Davenport, Iowa. Its right by the Mississippi but our area ends right before it. The MTC feels like forever ago and a dream. I think I like the MTC better than out here. Now time goes by super slow and I never can get enough sleep plus I have to buy my own food and be with only one person all the time. Good thing I like my companion. Her name is Shannon Hunter from Provo Utah. She has only been out about three months and she is training me. She wakes up like a minute before I do and jumps in the shower so for about 30 minutes I have to wait for her to get out so i can go to the bathroom…I just need to wake up a minute before her. Our apartment looks ghetto on the outside and super nice inside. Everything is brand new. All of our beds, furniture, kitchen supplies, everything. I am getting spoiled here my companion keeps telling me because the members feed us every night, also we ahve our own brand new car. Our Bishop’s name is Bishop Snarr. He is hilarious and reminds me of Nic SO much. Our ward is made up of a lot of students at Palmer chiropractic school. It makes up about a third of our ward. Then another third are interns at John Deere for the summer. The interns are mostly college kids, but married, so that is weird and fun at the same time. There are a lot of Aggies out here too. The bishopric is 2/3 Aggies so they really love me.  On Friday we ate dinner with the Harwards (Brohter Harward grew up in Gilbert on Lindsey and Houston, went to USU, and is at Palmers) they invited their friend Rachel over for dinner who is not a member and she has her bachelors degree in bible studies so needless to say she knew everything to counter us. We didn’t bible bash it was actually a cool discussion. After finals we will meet with her again. There iis a Despain family here(not related) but they have many of the same Despain signs as us which made me feel at home! We visited n inactive lady named Carol who had lots of stories to tell us. She has seen a catfish in the Mississippi bigger than a grown man and she once slapped the Mayor of Davenport for something(we couldn’t figure out what?).Mostly she just swore in all her stories and it was impossible not to laugh when she cussed like ten times in a sentence.  I guess the Jehovah Witnesses got a hold of her and have been telling her Anti for a while so ya. There is a huge fancy church on each corner…just not our churches. Our one building is on the edge of town.

Mike: You were right. the Mexican food here stinks. For district lunch after our meeting we ate at a place called Azteca…Gag. It was bad!

By the way I was told I am not allowed to write letters on any day except p-day out here so that is why the lack of written letters coming home. Thank you for the package, Mom/Cort/Logan. I love it! And now I have a single blanket for my bed 🙂 I think I am going to need my raincoat soon. It kinda drizzles here all the time. It makes it beautiful and green here!

I miss you all so much! Just move to Iowa. Mmmkay 🙂

Love you all!

Sister Despain

Our District Theme: Thrash on!

(D&C 35:13) ‘Wherefore, I call upon the weak things of the world, those who are unlearned and despised, to thresh the nations by the power of my Spirit;’

(Romans 8:31) ‘What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?’

Final picture from MTC with Sis . Woodberry

 

One thought on “June 10th, 2013 – THRASH ON!

  1. I am Sis. Char Hawkins from Gilbert. My nephew and his wife, Tanner and Heidi Flaherty live in Davenport, Iowa. I gave them Kelsey’s address and they said she lives about 3-4 miles from them. Tanner wants her to call them at 480-721-2432. It is Heidi’s cell number. They want to get with Kelsey and her companion and take them to dinner for me. Kelsey was one of my girls camp girls went I was Stake Camp Director and Randa was one of my 4th years from a few years back.

Leave a Reply

